Can B-Vitamins help with stress, depression and anxiety?

bvits

I have been working in healthcare for over 15 years and have been watching the growing trend of doctors prescribing more anti-depressants and anti-anxiety medications to sick individuals whose systems are already taxed and processing too many chemicals. A more holistic treatment for stress, anxiety and depression in the initial stages could be the use of a B-complex vitamin. It seems the demands and stress of everyday life whether you work or not can result in less than optimum levels of B-Vitamins.
As a working mother, I routinely will work greater than 10 hours a day, I like to always be my best around by family but this past month my works demands increased and I found myself more spent at the end of the day. I did some research and found that often times being deficient in B-vitamins has been related to more feelings of depression and anxiety. A meta-analysis completed by Long SJ, Benton D. titled “Effects of vitamin and mineral supplementation on stress, mild psychiatric symptoms, and mood in nonclinical samples: A meta-analysis” published in 2013 found that B-vitamin supplementation was observed to help with improve mood and feelings of stress diminished.
Starting today I will be taking a supplement from Solaray called B-stress AM, which is a two-stage timed release B-complex vitamin. My goal for July is to be more present and less stressed at home. I would also like to not drink any coffee this month and evaluate how I feel at the end of this month. Along with taking this supplement I will be increasing my meditation practice frequency and duration. I am hopeful that July 2016 will be a month full of positive changes!

Leave a Reply

