Grow your own vegetables-Raised bed gardening

0517160739I have been gardening for as long as I can remember, as a kid I grew up on a farm and we always had a garden. My grandparents farmed vegetables on 20 acres and sold them at farmer’s markets. I worked for my grandparents during many summers thru my middle school and high school years. I enjoying being outdoors tending the vegetable crops, harvesting, selling the produce and interacting with the customers at the farmer’s market. One of the many reasons I love living in Napa is the climate and the ability to grow an array of fruits and vegetables on our property. This year I planted vegetable seeds in raised beds that I filled will a mixture of compost and perlite. Wow! I am in disbelief at how well all of the plants are doing and the amount of vegetables I have been able to harvest. The beds are 4 feet by 6 feet and 1 foot deep. Made with untreated wood and metal screens in the bottom to keep out gophers etc. I have salad greens, rutabagas and green beans in one of the beds. The other bed I planted tomatoes, zucchini and pumpkin plants. I highly recommend gardening in raised beds if you have been frustrated by lack luster plants and harvests from flat earth gardening. Growing your own food is empowering and fresh vegetables are delicious and have a higher nutrient content then store bought vegetables that may have been picked weeks before arriving at a grocery store.

Leave a Reply

